Running for three-year periods, the national apiculture programmes for 2020-22 are co-funded by the European Union.

The budgets for the national apiculture programmes are only provisional and need to be approved by the European Commission, they will be adjusted based on the allocation granted to each EU country.

EU countries also produce annual implementation reports on the application of the national apiculture programmes during the previous year.

As of 1 February, 2020, the United Kingdom is no longer a member of the EU. Upon its withdrawal, the UK entered into a transition period, lasting until 31 December 2020. The UK may continue to apply the measures laid down in their program for apiculture year 2020.