The Access City Award is an award recognising cities that have worked to become more accessible for their citizens. This year's edition will be held on 4 December 2018, European Day of Disabilities.

It is an EU initiative that

  • recognises efforts by cities to become more accessible
  • promotes equal access to urban life for people with disabilities
  • allows local authorities to promote and share their best practices

This year's edition of the ACA also includes awards celebrating the European Year of Cultural Heritage, which recognise cities that have made their cultural heritage sites more accessible.

Apply for the main award

Apply for the cultural heritage award

Participation criteria

The Access City Award (ACA) recognises and celebrates a city's willingness, capability and efforts to ensure accessibility and is open to

  • all EU cities over 50,000 inhabitants
  • urban areas composed of two or more towns with more than 50 000 inhabitants in total, if they are in EU countries with fewer than two cities with more than 50 000 inhabitants

Cities with fewer than 50 000 inhabitants may submit an application for the special cultural heritage Access City Award.


  • 15 June 2018

    Contest is open for applications

  • 23 September 2018

    Deadline for applications

  • October 2018

    National juries review applications

  • October/November 2018

    European jury to choose the winners

  • 4 December 2018

    Access City Award Ceremony

Previous editions

Access City Award 2018

Access City Award 2018

The winner for the 2018 ACA was Lyon, with Ljubljana and Luxembourg as finalists.

Access City Award 2017

Access City Award 2017

The winner for the 2017 ACA was Chester, with Rotterdam and Jūrmala as finalists.

Practical information

Tuesday 4 December 2018, 11.30 (CET)
Alcide de Gasperi room, Charlemagne building
Rue de la Loi 170
1000 Brussels