Euro-area member since 1 January 2007

Fixed conversion rate

€1 = 239.640 SIT

Adoption of the euro

Slovenia adopted a ‘big bang’ changeover with a dual circulation period lasting from 1 January 2007 to 14 January 2007 during which both Slovenian tolar and euro banknotes and coins were used for payments.

Exchange of former national currency

The Banka Slovenije (Bank of Slovenia) will exchange tolar coins until 31 December 2016 and tolar banknotes for an unlimited time period.