Most recent decisions and updates

  • On 20 May 2020, the Commission adopted reports for Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom under Article 126(3) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU (TFEU), in which it reviews their compliance with the deficit and debt criteria of the Treaty.

  • On 4 March 2020, the Commission recommended that an Excessive Deficit Procedure be open for Romania. On 3 April, the Council adopted the decision and issued a recommendation on the adjustment path and the deadline to end the excessive deficit situation.

Overview of ongoing and closed excessive deficit procedures

Overview of ongoing excessive deficit procedures


Overview of closed excessive deficit procedures

Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia
Czechia Cyprus Denmark Estonia
Finland France Germany Greece
Hungary Ireland Italy Latvia
Lithuania Luxembourg Malta The Netherlands
Poland Portugal Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden United Kingdom*
*The United Kingdom was a member of the European Union from 1973 until 31/01/2020. The information contained on this page relates to its time as a member country.