Page Contents

On 18 October 2019, on the margins of the International Monetary Fund (IMF)/World Bank annual meetings in Washington DC, the European Union launched together with relevant authorities of Argentina, Canada, Chile, China, India, Kenya and Morocco the International Platform on Sustainable Finance (IPSF). The event was hosted by Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director of the IMF, and Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice President of the European Commission with the participation of Yi Gang, Governor of the People’s Bank of China, and Ukur Yatani, Cabinet Secretary for National Treasury of Kenya. You can watch the video of the IPSF launch ceremony here.

Since its launch, Indonesia, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Senegal, Singapore and Switzerland also joined the IPSF. Together, the 15 members of the IPSF represent 55% of greenhouse gas emissions, 50% of the world population and 50% of global GDP.

Together, the 14 members of the IPSF represent 50% of greenhouse gas emissions, 50% of the world population and 45% of global GDP.

The work of the IPSF is informed by nine observers

The ultimate objective of the IPSF is to scale up the mobilisation of private capital towards environmentally sustainable investments. The IPSF therefore offers a multilateral forum of dialogue between policymakers that are in charge of developing sustainable finance regulatory measures to help investors identify and seize sustainable investment opportunities that truly contribute to climate and environmental objectives. Through the IPSF, members can exchange and disseminate information to promote best practices, compare their different initiatives and identify barriers and opportunities of sustainable finance, while respecting national and regional contexts. Where appropriate, willing members can further strive to align their initiatives and approaches.

A first public report on the work of the IPSF was published at the one-year anniversary event of the IPSF that took place on 16 October 2020 on the margins of the IMF annual meeting. The report summarises the IPSF activities of the preceding year, the global trends in sustainable finance initiatives; a first-round mapping and comparison of existing initiatives and an overview of sustainable finance plans in the pipeline in all member jurisdictions.

See also:


The following countries are part the IPSF along with the European Union

  • Argentina: Ministry of Treasury
  • Canada: Department of Finance
  • Chile: Ministry of Finance
  • China: People’s Bank of China
  • European Union: European Commission
  • India: Ministry of Finance
  • Indonesia: Ministry of Finance
  • Japan: Financial Services Agency
  • Kenya: The National Treasury
  • Morocco: Ministry of Economy and Finance
  • New Zealand: Ministry for the Environment
  • Norway: Ministry of Finance
  • Senegal: Ministry of Finance and Budget
  • Singapore: Ministry of Finance and Monetary Authority
  • Switzerland: Federal Department of Finance