On 22 June 2017, in the margins of the European Council (Article 50), the EU 27 leaders endorsed the procedure for the relocation of the EU agencies currently located in the UK: the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and the European Banking Authority (EBA).

Under this procedure, interested Member States submitted their offers to host one or both of the agencies by 31 July 2017.

The Commission was invited to examine the submitted offers based on the criteria agreed by the 27 Member States and to submit an assessment of the offers by 30 September 2017.

Further to a political discussion based on the Commission's assessment in October 2017, the 27 Member States selected, by vote in the margins of the General Affairs Council (Art. 50) meeting in November 2017, Amsterdam as the new seat of the European Medicines Agency and Paris as the new seat of the European Banking Authority.

See further details on the procedure and the submitted offers.

The Commission assessment

On 30 September 2017, the Commission submitted its assessment of the offers to the Secretary-General of the Council. The assessment consists of the following documents:

  1. Commission note
  2. General assessment summary, one for each Agency
  3. Individual assessment summaries, one for each offer
  4. Individual assessment grids, one for each offer


European Banking Authority

  • Austria (Vienna)
  • Belgium (Brussels Greater Area)
  • Czech Republic (Prague)
  • France (Paris)
  • Germany (Frankfurt)
  • Ireland (Dublin)
  • Luxembourg (City of Luxembourg)
  • Poland (Warsaw)


European Medicines Agency

  • Austria (Vienna)
  • Belgium (Brussels Greater Area)
  • Bulgaria (Sofia)
  • Croatia (Zagreb)
  • Denmark (Copenhagen)
  • Finland (Helsinki)
  • France (Lille)
  • Germany (Bonn)
  • Greece (Athens)
  • Ireland (Dublin)
  • Italy (Milan)
  • Malta
  • Netherlands (Amsterdam Metropolitan Area)
  • Poland (Warsaw)
  • Portugal (Porto)
  • Romania (Bucharest)
  • Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Spain (Barcelona)
  • Sweden (Stockholm)