Innovation and Networks Executive Agency

Winners of the 3rd WiFi4EU call announced

Creation date: October 24, 2019

1,780 municipalities from all over the EU have won a WiFi4EU voucher during the latest call.

The third WiFi4EU call for applications took place from 19 to 20 September 2019. By the closure of the application period on 20 September, the Commission had received over 11,000 applications from all participating countries out of the 25,000 registered municipalities.

The latest call has a budget of EUR 26.7 million, and 1,780 municipalities will each receive a voucher to set up Wi-Fi hotspots in public spaces. While based on a “first-come, first-served” principle, all participating countries were nevertheless guaranteed a minimum of 15 vouchers, provided they had sufficient numbers of applicants. For this call, the maximum amount available for each participating country is 142 vouchers, 8% of the budget of the call.  

Success of participation

The demand largely exceeded the number of vouchers that were available in this call. Municipalities from all 30 participating countries (EU Member States, Norway and Iceland) applied for a voucher. Seven countries (Spain, Italy, Germany, France, Romania, Austria and Hungary) reached the maximum number of vouchers available to a single Member State. Applicants proved very receptive to the first-come first-served principle of distribution, with 2000 applications received in the first 2 seconds of the call launch.

A total of 7,980 vouchers have been awarded to municipalities since the beginning of the WiFi4EU initiative.