Innovation and Networks Executive Agency


INEA ceased operations on 31 March 2021. The European Health and Digital Executive Agency (HaDEA) was established on 1 April 2021 to take over the CEF Telecom legacy portfolio as well as additional EU funding programmes.
Building sustainable capabilities to enhance and support the European Cyber Security Challenge
CEF Telecom
Call year:
Location of the Action:
Implementation schedule: 
April 2020 to March 2024
Maximum EU contribution: 
Total eligible costs: 
Percentage of EU support: 

CyberSecurityAustria - Verein Zur Forderung Der Sicherheit Osterreichs Strategischer Infrastruktur (Austria)

Additional information: 

Digital Single Market (DSM) strategy

DSM - Connecting Europe Facility

CEF Digital portal

Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA)

Cybersecurity policy

Last modified: 
April 2022


The overall objective of the proposed Action is to organise the final events of the European Cyber Security Challenge (ECSC) in 2021 (in Prague), in 2022 (in Vienna), and in 2023 (in Oslo).

The ECSC is an annual pan-European cybersecurity competition among the winners of national competitions. It is an initiative of multiple Member States and EEA countries supported by the European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA), which aims at engaging and connecting cybersecurity talent across Europe.

To help solve the cybersecurity skills gap, multiple countries have initiated national cybersecurity competitions for students, young cybersecurity professionals and non- professionals, all with the common goal of identifying cybersecurity talent and encouraging them to pursue a career in cybersecurity. The ECSC builds upon these national competitions by adding a pan-European layer.

The ECSC consists of a mix of technical puzzles that require hard skills such as pen-testing, digital forensics, and reverse engineering, but also social and presentation soft skills.

The Action will support the host-countries to organise and deliver the final event in cooperation with ENISA and the participating countries, further develop the ECSC platform and encourage diversity.