Migration and Home Affairs

A Global Alliance against Child Sexual Abuse Online

Child sexual abuse is a hideous crime. For the vast majority of us, the idea of violating, hurting and abusing a child is intolerable. Nonetheless, these crimes are not as rare as we would like to think. Every day, countless children around the world are sexually abused and exploited, and images and videos of the abuse are circulated. Already in 2005, an estimated one million child sexual abuse images were online. 50.000 new child abuse images are added each year. More than 70% of reported images feature children below 10 years of age. And these images never disappear. Children that have been identified and rescued years ago still have to face the fact that their abuse remains freely available for anyone to view online, and are re-victimized over and over.

We cannot afford to remain passive, and we cannot afford to act alone. This is no phenomenon that any country can tackle on its own. Modern technology allows criminals to move images, videos and contacts quickly between jurisdictions, exploiting legal loopholes and the anonymity the Internet provides. International cooperation is essential if we want to stand a chance of rescuing victims, putting a stop to continuing re-victimization and of finding and prosecuting offenders.

In response to this challenge, and on a joint initiative by the EU and the US, 54 countries from around the world have gathered in a Global Alliance against Child Sexual Abuse Online. The Alliance was launched on 5 December 2012 and unites Ministers of the Interior and of Justice behind four shared political targets that should hopefully result in a larger number of rescued victims, more effective prosecution, and an overall reduction in the amount of child sexual abuse images available online.

A first report summarising the commitments that participating countries have undertaken in order to reach the four political targets has been produced in December 2013.

At the invitation of EU Commissioner for Home Affairs Cecilia Malmström and US Attorney General Eric Holder, global decision-makers met in Washington for the second Ministerial Conference of the Global Alliance on 29 and 30 September 2014.

Ministers and representatives from participating countries, experts from law enforcement authorities, the private sector, victim advocacy groups and frontline organisations assessed what progress has been made in the first two years of the Global Alliance and how to expand the fight against global proliferation of child sexual abuse online in the future. A Ministers' Declaration summarizes the outcome of the conference.

After the conference, participating countries again provided updates on their progress towards achieving the Global Alliance’s policy targets. They also provided detailed input on the evolving threat of child sexual abuse online, outlining the major changes that national law enforcement perceives. On the basis of this input, the Global Alliance secretariat compiled the Second Global Alliance Report and a first comprehensive threat assessment report.

Concrete policy targets and goals

Endorsing the Declaration on the Launch of the Global Alliance against child sexual abuse online, the countries participating in the Alliance commit to four key policy targets:

  • enhancing efforts to identify victims and ensuring that they receive the necessary assistance, support and protection;
  • enhancing efforts to investigate cases of child sexual abuse online and to identify and prosecute offenders;
  • increasing awareness among children, parents, educators and the community at large about the risks;
  • reducing the availability of child pornography online and the re-victimization of children.

Guiding principles annexed to the Declaration set out concrete operational goals and examples of potential actions that participants could undertake to reach these goals.

The Participants

The participation in the Global Alliance is open to any country willing to join. To-date, 54 countries have committed to its goals: the 28 EU Member States, Albania, Armenia, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Georgia, Ghana, Israel, Japan, Kosovo, South Korea, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Serbia, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine and United States.


Participants in the Global Alliance have submitted commitments to undertake concrete actions in the immediate future to reach the four key policy targets. These commitments also include a detailed baseline, providing an overview of actions they already undertook. The choice of actions for reaching the overarching goals is left to each country.

Participants produced progress reports on the actions they committed to, on the occasion of the Second Ministerial Conference, in September 2014.

The documents available below – both commitments and progress reports – reflect the choice and views of the individual country.


Bosnia and Herzegovina

Report 2014


Report 2014


Report 2014

United Kingdom

Report 2014

United States

Report 2014