Migration and Home Affairs

European Neighbourhood Policy

The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) was developed to promote prosperity, stability and security within the EU's neighbours and to avoid new dividing lines between the enlarged EU and its neighbours. Home Affairs issues remain a priority.

Immediate neighbours

At present, the EU works with 16 partners: its immediate neighbours by land or sea – Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Morocco, Occupied Palestinian Territory, Syria, Tunisia and Ukraine. (Relations with Russia, however, are governed by a Strategic Partnership that includes a Common Space of Freedom, Security and Justice).

Common values

The EU offers its neighbours a privileged relationship, building upon common values (democracy and human rights, rule of law, good governance, market economy principles and sustainable development). Ambitions for the relationship depend on the extent to which these values are shared.

Political dialogue

The ENP builds upon existing agreements between the EU and the partner in question (e.g. Partnership and Cooperation Agreements (PCA) or Association Agreements in the framework of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership). The EU and partners agree joint bilateral action plans. These set out an agenda of political and economic reforms for a period of three to five years. To date, 12 action plans have been agreed (some of these are already "second generation").

The Commission recently re-launched the ENP strategy, including migration and mobility in the principal priorities.