Migration and Home Affairs

EU and China sign visa waiver agreement for diplomats

Representatives of the European Commission, the Dutch EU Council Presidency, and the government of China have signed a reciprocal short stay visa waiver agreement for holders of diplomatic passports. This agreement will allow visa free travel to the EU for citizens of China holding a diplomatic passport for stays up to 90 days (within any 180-day period) as well as for EU citizens travelling to China and holding a diplomatic passport or an EU laissez-passer. The agreement will provisionally enter into force 3 March 2016. It will not apply to the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos said ahead of the signature of the agreement: “This is an important agreement not only because it is the first international agreement between the EU and China in the field of Home Affairs but also because it represents an important step towards greater cooperation on issues of mutual concern, especially in the areas of migration and mobility.”

Monday, 29 February, 2016