Migration and Home Affairs

Visa non-reciprocity with certain third countries

Friday, 10 October, 2014

The European Commission adopted today a report assessing the situation of non-reciprocity with certain third countries in the area of visa policy. Visa non-reciprocity refers to instances where citizens of a non-EU country enjoy visa-free travel to the EU, yet this country requires EU citizens of certain Member States to obtain visas for travel to their territory.

In early 2014 the Commission received notifications from Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania about their citizens being required to apply for visas when travelling to the following countries: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Japan, and the United States of America.

To discuss the state of play and the steps needed to achieve full visa reciprocity as soon as possible, the Commission established a new, more dynamic and results-oriented approach: a framework of regular tripartite meetings between the third country, the Member State(s) concerned and the Commission. The first meetings have demonstrated that there is a need for further clarifications and information. These exchanges will be actively pursued and the situation assessed every 6 months. The Commission considers that, at this stage, it would not be appropriate to suspend the exemption from the visa requirement for certain categories of nationals of the third countries concerned.

For more information: