Migration and Home Affairs

Schengen's 26th anniversary

Today marks the 26th anniversary of the Schengen acquis, an agreement, first signed on 14 June 1985 by 5 EU Member States (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands). Nowadays this agreement has led to the removal of internal borders between 25 countries, to the benefit of more than 400 million Europeans.

For more information:

  • MEMO/11/401 Statement of Cecilia Malmström, European Commissioner for Home Affairs
Tuesday, 14 June, 2011