Migration and Home Affairs

Schengen Information System (SIS)


Croatia becomes part of the Schengen Information System (SIS)

Croatia becomes part of the Schengen Information System (SIS)

As of today, Croatia is connected to the Schengen Information System (SIS), the most widely used information sharing system for security and border management in Europe. Croatia will now be able to exchange information with other Member States through SIS on persons wanted in relation to terrorism and other serious crimes, missing persons and certain objects such as stolen vehicles, firearms and identity documents. This will further enhance information exchange between Member States and will contribute to the security of all European citizens.

The UK cooperates with European states on law enforcement

The UK cooperates with European states on law enforcement

On 13 April 2015 the Schengen Information System (SIS) – a key tool for national authorities to cooperate to fight terrorism and serious organised crime – becomes operational in the UK. The integration of the UK, which was put into effect by the Council as from 13 February, could only be accomplished thanks to intensive preparatory work by all participating states and eu-LISA, the EU agency responsible for the operational management of the SIS.

Second generation Schengen Information System (SIS II)

SIS II – a more advanced version of the Schengen Information System (SIS) – was launched in April 2013 with enhanced functionalities, such as the possibility to use biometrics, new types of alerts, the possibility to link different alerts (such as an alert on a person and a vehicle) and a facility for direct queries on the system. SIS II also contains copies of European Arrest Warrants (EAW), which are recognised as having the same legal value as the originals, making it easier and quicker for the competent authorities to ensure the necessary follow-up.

Schengen Area

As of December 2011, the Schengen Area consists of the following EU States: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland and Sweden. This means that the other EU States (i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom) are not (yet) part of Schengen.

Schengen Agreement & Convention

With the signing on 14 June 1985 of the Schengen Agreement, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands agreed that they would gradually remove controls at their common borders and introduce freedom of movement for all nationals of the signatory EU States, other EU States or non-EU countries. The Schengen Convention, signed on 19 June 1990, supplements the Agreement and lays down the arrangements and safeguards for implementing freedom of movement.

Right to freedom of movement

A fundamental right of every citizen of an EU State or another European Economic Area (EEA) State or Switzerland to freely move, reside and work within the territory of these States.


Subscribe to RSS - Schengen Information System (SIS)