Skip to main content
Migration and Home Affairs

Schengen, Borders and Visa

EU citizens, non-EU residents and visitors to the EU need to be able to freely and safely travel within the EU. The Schengen Area has made this a concrete reality.

The Schengen Area is one of the greatest achievements of the EU. It is an area without internal borders, an area within which citizens and many non-EU nationals staying legally in the EU can freely circulate without being subjected to border checks. Since 1985, it has gradually grown and encompasses almost all EU Member States and a few associated non-EU countries.

While having abolished their internal borders, Schengen countries have also tightened controls at their common external border on the basis of common Schengen rules to ensure the security of those living or travelling within the Schengen Area.

A single set of rules for external border checks on persons

The Schengen Borders Code governs the crossing of the external border, facilitating access for those who have a legitimate interest to enter into the EU. A common visa policy provides common rules on legal entry to the EU for a short stay (up to 90 days). For non-EU border residents who frequently need to cross the EU external border, a special Local Border Traffic Regime has been established.

Security for citizens and travellers

EU State authorities need to cooperate on border management to ensure the security of citizens and travellers in the EU. A number of information sharing mechanisms are central to this cooperation.

  • The Visa Information System (VIS) allows Schengen States to exchange visa data, in particular data on decisions relating to short-stay visa applications.
  • The Schengen Information System (SIS) allows Schengen States to exchange data on suspected criminals, on people who may not have the right to enter into or stay in the EU, on missing persons and on stolen, misappropriated or lost property.

VIS and SIS, as well as EURODAC are operated by the EU Agency for large-scale IT systems (eu-LISA).

Two additional information systems are expected to be operational by the end of 2023, the Entry/Exit System (EES), an automated IT system for the registration of travellers from third-countries, and the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), an IT system for the identification of security, irregular migration or high epidemic risks posed by visa-exempt visitors.

It is also necessary to ensure the security of travel documents to establish a reliable link between the document and its holder and to fight against the falsification and counterfeiting of travel documents.

How to read the visa sticker

DURATION OF STAY………DAYS indicates the number of days you may stay in the Schengen area. The days should be counted from the date you enter the...

Refusal of a visa and appeal

The decision to refuse a Schengen visa and the reasons for the refusal are notified to the applicant using a standard form. The decision to refuse the...

The Schengen visa

A Schengen visa is a short stay visa allowing its holder to circulate in the Schengen area. The Schengen area covers 26 countries ("Schengen States")...