Migration and Home Affairs

Schengen Area

( A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W X

As of December 2011, the Schengen Area consists of the following EU States: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland and Sweden. This means that the other EU States (i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom) are not (yet) part of Schengen. Whilst Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are not EU States, they have signed an Association Agreement in order to be associated with the implementation, application and development of the Schengen acquis.