Health programme

Who can participate?

All EU Member States, Iceland, Norway, Serbia and Moldova participate in the Health Programme, i.e. entities registered in these countries are eligible to participate in the calls for proposals.

A number of other countries have started a procedure for or are on the way to sign a bilateral agreement with the European Union in accordance with Article 6 of Regulation (EU) No 282/2014 on the establishment of a third Health Programme for the Union’s action in the field of health (2014-2020). Their names will be provided once the procedure will be completed and the agreements signed.

Even organisations from countries not participating in the programme are encouraged to get involved, where this can help achieve the programme's objectives. Such organisations can be invited by partners from participating countries, if their contribution is considered useful. However, they may neither contribute financially nor receive any funding from the programme.

Participation is open to a wide range of organisations, including:

  • Research institutes and universities
  • Public authorities
  • NGO's
  • Commercial firms

Different participation rules apply, depending on how the initiative is funded. The details are specified in the annual work plan and the subsequent call for proposals and call for tenders published each year.