EU in the world


ENPSEEHN was established in 2001 as a health component of the Stability Pact Social Cohesion Initiative with the aim to bring people together across borders to improve health in the whole region. The cooperation has been started by 9 SEE countries, the Council of Europe and the WHO Regional Office for Europe. The SEEHN was set up as a political and institutional forum by the governments of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.  In 2011 Israel became the 10th member of the SEEHN.

Transition of the Stability Pact process to the new form of the Regional Cooperation with the establishment of the Regional Cooperation Council, and the perspective for further EU enlargement, created a new environment for developing a closer cooperation between the Commission and the network.

SEEHN comprises representatives of the health ministries of its ten member countries, five partner western European countries and five intergovernmental organizations. During the last decade, SEEHN has been the vehicle of health development in the areas of mental health, communicable diseases, food safety and nutrition, blood safety, tobacco control, information systems, maternal and neonatal health, public health services and health systems.

SEEHN has also received political, technical and financial support from 10 partner countries (Belgium, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom) and five international organizations.