European Reference Networks

Board of Member States

The Board of Member States, as laid out in the European Commission implementing decision, was set up on 5 February 2014.

The main tasks of the Board are:

  • Approval of Network proposals and healthcare providers' membership applications
  • Approval of healthcare providers wishing to join an existing Network
  • Termination of a Network (evaluation)
  • Decision on loss of membership

Functioning of the Board

  • Rules of procedure governing the board
  • Members represent EU countries and EEA (Maximum two representatives per country)
  • Co-chaired by the European Commission and a representative of the Members elected by the Board for a two-year period
  • The current co-chairs of the Board are Sweden (Dr Lennart Christiansson) and Commission (Dr Andrzej Rys; Director of DG SANTE Directorate B)

Meetings and key documents

EU National Strategies

A number of EU countries have clear policies and criteria for managing rare, low prevalence or complex diseases, others are currently in the process of deciding on their approach, and how this approach could be linked to the ERNs.

The information below outlines the national criteria or systems used to approve Centres of Expertise, and other possible highly specialised services. These national strategies should help to promote ERNs at national level, and to facilitate the exchange of best practices among EU countries.

 Austria Italy
 Belgium Latvia
 Bulgaria Lithuania
 Croatia Luxembourg
 Cyprus Malta
 Czechia Netherlands
 Denmark Poland
 Estonia Portugal
 Finland Romania
 France Slovakia
 Germany Slovenia
 Greece Spain
 Hungary Sweden


 EEA countries

  Norway Liechtenstein

 Other countries

 United Kingdom