eHealth : Digital health and care

Electronic cross-border health services

The electronic cross-border health service is an infrastructure ensuring the continuity of care for European citizens while they are travelling abroad in the EU. This gives EU countries the possibility to exchange health data in a secure, efficient and interoperable way.

The following two electronic cross-border health services are currently progressively introduced in all EU countries:

  • ePrescription (and eDispensation) allows EU citizens to obtain their medication in a pharmacy located in another EU country, thanks to the online transfer of their electronic prescription from their country of residence where they are affiliated, to their country of travel.
  • Patient Summary provides information on important health related aspects such as allergies, current medication, previous illness, surgeries, etc. It is part of  a larger collection of health data called electronic Health Record. The digital Patient Summary is meant to provide doctors with essential information in their own language concerning the patient, when the patient comes from another EU country and there may be a linguistic barrier. On a longer term, not only the basic medical information of the Patient Summary, but the full Health Record should become available across the EU. The exchange of ePrescriptions and Patient Summaries is open to all the Member States.

Both ePrescriptions and Patient Summaries can be exchanged between EU countries thanks to the new eHealth Digital Service Infrastructure (eHDSI).

By 2021, both services will gradually be implemented in 22 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Which services are available in which countries?

Doctors from the countries below: can access health data of citizens coming from:
Croatia Czech Republic (Sept. 2019), Malta (24 Feb. 2020)  and Portugal (Feb. 2020)
Luxembourg Czech Republic (Jun. 2019), Malta (Dec. 2019)
Malta Portugal (Feb. 2020)
Portugal Malta (Jan. 2020)
Health data of citizens from the countries below: can be consulted by doctors from the countries below, using the Patient Summary:
Czech Republic Luxembourg (Jun. 2019), Croatia (Sept. 2019)
Malta Luxembourg (Dec. 2019), Portugal (Jan. 2020), Croatia (24 Feb. 2020)
Portugal Malta (21 Feb. 2020) , Croatia (Feb. 2020) and Luxembourg (March 2020)
ePrescriptions of citizens from countries below: can be retrieved in pharmacies in:
Croatia Finland (Jan. 2019)
Estonia Finland (June 2020)
Finland Estonia (January 2019),  Croatia (September 2019)
Portugal   Estonia (June 2020)
Pharmacists of countries below: can dispense ePrescriptions of citizens from:
Croatia Finland (September 2019)
Estonia Finland (January 2019), Croatia (March 2020), Portugal (June 2020)
Finland Estonia (June 2020) 

For Portugal, please consult:

Related information: