Reports from Member States on creosote containing products

The provisions in Commission Directive 2011/71/EU amending Directive 98/8/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council to include creosote as an active substance in Annex I thereto, require that “Those Member States authorising such products in their territory shall no later than 31 July 2016 submit a report to the Commission justifying their conclusion that there are no appropriate alternatives and indicating how the development of alternatives is promoted. The Commission will make these reports publicly available.

The table below indicates only those Member States where applications for authorisation of creosote containing products have been submitted.

Member State* Report
Austria Austria
Belgium Belgium
Bulgaria Bulgaria not provided
Croatia Croatia not provided
Czechia Czechia not provided**
Estonia Estonia not provided**
Finland Finland
France France
Germany Germany
Greece Greece
Hungary Hungary not provided
Ireland Ireland
Latvia Latvia
Norway Norway
Poland Poland
Portugal Portugal not provided**
Romania Romania not provided**
Slovenia Slovenia
Spain Spain
Sweden Sweden
Switzerland Switzerland* not provided
United Kingdom United Kingdom

* “Member State” refers to EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland (situation as of 07 March 2019)

** the application for authorisation is still ongoing