

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

HEALTH & CONSUMER PROTECTION DIRECTORATE-GENERAL

Directorate C – Public Health and Risk Assessment C7 Risk assessment

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PRODUCTS SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL AND RISKS SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON EMERGING AND NEWLY IDENTIFIED HEALTH RISKS

1ST PLENARY MEETINGS – JOINT SESSIONS

Held on 7-8 September 2004 in Brussels MINUTES

7 September 2004 Joint session

Mr Robert Madelin welcomed members to the first joint meeting of the Scientific Committees and congratulated them on their appointment to the Committees. He stressed the importance of scientific advice in the policy making of the Commission. Excellence, transparency and independency were highlighted as key points in the work of the Committees. Mr Madelin drew particular attention to the importance of the clarity of their opinions and the role of the Committees in establishing confidence with stakeholders.

The full presentation is available at

The importance of scientific advice in the Community decision making process

The Chair explained that, in accordance with Article 10 of Commission Decision 2004/210/EC setting up the Scientific Committees, the Committees are required to adopt common rules of procedure in consultation with the Commission. The draft rules were prepared taking into account the rules of the former scientific committees, the rules of the European Food Safety Authority and the need to improve clarity and transparency. The draft rules were presented to members for discussion.

The main innovation in relation to the co-ordination of the three new Scientific Committees is the introduction of an "inter-committee group", involving the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the three Scientific Committees, which will be chaired by the Commission. The objective of this group is to ensure harmonised approaches in the risk assessment and ordinary tasks of the Committees, particularly in areas such as common questions, diverging scientific opinions, coherence and consistency, methodological approaches, and cooperation with other Community bodies.

Concerning transparency, additional information will be now published on the web site of DG Health and Consumer Protection, in particular regarding members' declarations of interests and commitment, as well as the requests received by each of the scientific committees.

The rules have also included a chapter on diverging opinions, in line with Commission Decision 2004/210/EC and the Food Safety Authority's Regulation. Minority opinions,

although already included in the previous rules of procedure, will now have to be attributed together with supporting argumentation, to members or associated members concerned. Finally attention has been paid to relations with stakeholders. A section has been added to cover both needs, e.g. request for additional information from the Scientific Committee or a request for hearings from stakeholders.

The draft rules of procedures were unanimously adopted with very minor editorial changes. Additional administrative information was provided to the members of the Committees.

8 September 2004 SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEES JOINT SESSION

Welcoming address to the Members by Commissioner David Byrne

Commissioner David Byrne addressed the members of the Committees urging them to work together to provide the Commission with unambiguous scientific advice that would enable the risk managers to take the adequate and required actions in order to guarantee consumer protection. He stressed the importance of independent scientific advice not only within the EU but in the international arena.

The full speech is available at:

Inaugural joint meeting of the members of the non-food scientific committees

Annex I: List of Participants.

First Plenary Meeting held on 7-8 September 2004 in Brussels Joint sessions of the three Committees

Annex I List of Participants

MEMBERS OF THE SCCP:

Dr. C. CHAMBERS, Prof. G. DEGEN, Prof. R. DUBAKIENE, Prof. C. GALLI, Dr. R. GRIMALT, Dr. B. JAZWIEC-KANYION, Prof. Em. V. KAPOULAS, Prof. J. KRUTMANN, Prof. C. LIDÉN, Prof. Em. N. LOPRIENO, Prof. J-P. MARTY, Prof. T. PLATZEK, Dr. S. CHANDRA RASTOGI, Prof. J. REVUZ, Prof. V.M. ROGIERS, Prof. T. SANNER, Prof. G. SPEIT, Dr. J. VAN ENGELEN, Dr. I. WHITE

SCCP Secretariat (DG Health & Consumer Protection):

Ms T. PEETSO, Mr. A. VAN ELST

MEMBERS OF THE SCHER:

Prof. H. AUTRUP, Prof. P. CALOW, Prof. Dr. W. DEKANT, Prof. Em. H. GREIM, Prof. W. HANKE, Prof. Dr. C. JANSSEN, Prof. B. JANSSON, Dr. H. KOMULAINEN, Dr. O. LADEFOGED, Dr. I. MANGELSDORF, Prof. M. NUTI, Prof. J. SOKAL, Prof. A. STEENHOUT, Dr. J. TARAZONA, Dr. E. TESTAI, Prof. M. VIGHI, Dr. M. VILUKSELA, Prof. J. VOS

SCHER Secretariat (DG Health & Consumer Protection):

Ms. G. FONTANESI, Ms M PHILIPPÉ

MEMBERS OF THE SCENIHR:

Prof. A. AHLBOM, Prof. J. BRIDGES, Dr. W.H. DE JONG, Dr. D. GRECO, Prof. J. HASLOVÁ, Prof. P. HARTEMANN, Dr. T. JUNG, Prof. M.O. MATTSON, Dr. J.M. PAGÈS, Prof. K. RYDZYNSKI, PD. Dr. D. STAHL, Dr. M. THOMSEN, Prof. D. WILLIAMS

SCENIHR Secretariat (DG Health & Consumer Protection):

Ms. P AGUAR, Ms M. BRANDIMARTE

SANCO C7: Mr. P WAGSTAFFE (Chair for joint sessions), Ms M MARINI, Mr. P. MARTIN, Ms B GIANFREDA-REITER, Ms B. PRENDERGAST, Ms C. HUMPHREY,

Other Commission staff: - Mr P. DASKALEROS