European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.

Uppsala Regional Council

Original name: 
Regionförbundet Uppsala Län
Storgatan 27
Uppsala 753 31

Uppsala Regional Council is a forum for political decisions in Uppsala County. The highest policy and decision-making body is the Council Assembly. Uppsala Regional Council is made up of the County Council and the eight municipalities of Uppsala County: Enköping, Heby, Håbo, Knivsta, Tierp, Uppsala, Älvkarleby and Östhammar.

The Regional Council of Uppsala’s mission is to strengthen the cooperation on the regional level and to work for regional and economic development. The politicians are elected by the boards of the County Council and the town councils in each municipality in the county. The board is responsible for the everyday work and has two drafting committees at its disposal: a Traffic and Planning Committee and a Committee for Growth and Competence Supply.


The council is responsible for organising and coordination’s of the Regional Development Strategy. The Regional Development Strategy is the main strategic document for long-term planning and defines key challenges and activities in future development.