European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



Wallonia (3,633,803 inhabitants in 2018) is one of the three regions of the Federal State of Belgium, together with Flanders (6,559,294 inh.) and Brussels-Capital (1,205,492 inh.) (Eurostat,2019). The country also has three ‘linguistic communities’ (Flemish, French, German). Each type of entity has specific and autonomous competencies with no hierarchy of powers, which, for R&D policy implies a multi-level governance system.

Vertical Tabs