European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



The Free State of Saxony, located in the south-east of Germany, is one of the sixteen federal states. It borders the federal states of Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Bavaria and Thuringia as well as Poland to the east and the Czech Republic to the south.
With 4.077m inhabitants in 2019, accounting for 5% of the German population, it is the seventh most populous region in the country. Its surface area is 18,416km² and its population density is 221.4 inhabitants per km² (Eurostat, 2020). About 30% of its population lives in the three largest cities, namely Dresden, Leipzig, and Chemnitz. The capital city is Dresden.
Saxony’s economy is characterised by a strong industrial sector specialised in the automobile industry, machine construction, metal production and electrical/ microelectronics.

Vertical Tabs