European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



Rhône-Alpes region is located in the eastern part of France. The mountainous region has borders with Switzerland and Italy and is neighbour to five French regions (Franche-Comté, Bourgogne, Auvergne, Languedoc-Roussillon and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur). There are 6.45m inhabitants and the total territory size is 43,698 km² with a population density of 144 inhab/km. As the regional map has been recasted, Rhônes-Alpes is now part of the bigger region Auvergne-Rhônes-Alpes.

Vertical Tabs