European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.

Province of Groningen


Groningen is one of 12 Dutch provinces, located in the Northern Netherlands and relatively sparsely populated. It has a surface of 2,960 km2, which is roughly 9% of the total Dutch area, and has one large city, its capital Groningen. The province has 582,944 inhabitants (Eurostat, 2019), which is 3.4% of total Dutch population. Groningen has a relatively low research and development intensity compared to other Dutch provinces and public expenditures dominate Groningen’s R&D efforts. Provincial strengths are energy and life sciences. The natural gas extraction in Groningen and resulting earthquakes are an issue.

Vertical Tabs