European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



Pays de la Loire is located in the western part of France. Bordering with the Atlantic Ocean and four other regions (Bretagne, Normandie, Centre - Val de Loire and Aquitaine - Limousin - Poitou-Charentes), the region had 3.7 million inhabitants in 2013. With a total surface of 32,082 km² it is the fifth biggest French region. Its territory has not been affected by the territorial reform of 2015. The region is composed of five departments (NUTS 3): Loire-Atlantique, Vendée, Maine-et-Loire, Mayenne and Sarthe. The regional capital is Nantes.

The region is characterised by a specialisation in some key economic sectors: leather industry, textile, shipyard industry and aeronautics, agriculture and food-processing industry, plastic industry and insurance services.

Vertical Tabs