European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.

North East


The North East region is bounded by the North Sea to the East, Scotland to North and the Yorkshire & Humber region to its South and West. It comprises the counties of Northumberland, County Durham, the Tees Valley and the metropolitan area of Tyne and Wear. It covers an area of 8,607 km2 (about 3,318 sq. miles) and has a population of about 2.6m (the lowest populated region in the United Kingdom (UK)), which has been growing by 3.8% between 2001 and 2017 - the slowest growing region in terms of population in the UK (Eurostat, 2018).

Vertical Tabs