European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.

Mecklenburg-West Pomerania


Mecklenburg-West Pomerania (MW) is a federal state in the north-east of Germany bordered by the Baltic Sea, Poland and three other federal states: Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony and Brandenburg. In terms of area, it is the sixth largest federal state (23,213 km²) but, with 1.61m inhabitants in 2017, it is the nation’s least densely populated region (70 inhabitants per km²). Its capital is Schwerin.

After reunification, the region has been impacted by a number of structural changes such as population loss (about 300,000 people have left the region since reunification). Currently population growth rates fluctuate between -0.4% (2012) and 0.8% (2016), much below national rates.  The region has a strong agricultural and maritime tradition resulting in a continued importance of agriculture, food industries, maritime industries, fishing and tourism, which favours the western and coastal part of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania’s territory.

Vertical Tabs