European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.

Free Hanseatic Town of Bremen


With an area of only 419.0 km², the free Hanseatic City of Bremen is the smallest federal state of Germany. It consists of two separate enclaves: Bremen, officially the “City” (Stadtgemeinde Bremen) which is the federal state‘s capital, and the city of Bremerhaven (Stadt Bremerhaven). Both are located on the River Weser in the northwest of Germany; Bremerhaven is further downstream and serves as a North Sea harbour. Both cities are completely surrounded by the neighbouring State of Lower Saxony. The two cities are the only administrative subdivisions of the federal state Bremen. Bremen has a total population of about 682,986 inhabitants in 2019 and is a part of the metropolitan region of Bremen/Oldenburg. The population density of Bremen and Bremerhaven is 1630 inhabitants per km².
Bremen is one of the biggest industry sites in Germany and has the highest export ratio in Germany thanks to its extensive port. Moreover, Bremen has one of the eleven Excellence Universities in Germany, is very strong regarding R&D and is one of the richest cities in Europe.

Vertical Tabs