European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



Flanders (6.526.061 inh.), Wallonia (3.626.571 inh.) and Brussels-Capital (1.199.095 inh.) are the Belgian regions, in 2017 (Eurostat, 2018). Belgium also has three linguistic communities: Flemish, French and German. Regions and communities have autonomous competencies with no hierarchy of powers, which for R&D policy implies a multi-level governance system. The governments of the region of Flanders and the Flemish community have merged into one.

Vertical Tabs