European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



The Basque Country (regional capital: Vitoria-Gasteiz) is located in the north of Spain. This region shares its borders with Cantabria and the province of Burgos in the west; the Cantabrian Sea in the north; France and Navarra in the east; and La Rioja (the Ebro River) in the south. It is made up of three provinces (called provinces in the autonomous system): Araba, Gipuzkoa and Bizkaia, bringing together 251 municipalities. It has an area of 7,230 km2 and registered 2,170,868 inhabitants in 2018 (4.7% of the national population), with quite a high population density of around 300 people/ km2. The Basque Country is currently one of the wealthiest regions in Spain (Eurostat, 2019). It has a solid industrial base, encompassing the automotive industry, aeronautics, energy, the environment, industrial design, machinery and engineering, among others.

Vertical Tabs