European Commission - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

For a better experience, please enable Javascript.



The Aquitaine region is located in the southwestern part of France. It is one of the largest regions of France, covering 8% of the country and 5.2% of the French population. The administrative capital is Bordeaux. Aquitaine which has a population of about 3.3 million inhabitants (2014), ranks 6th. The region consists of five departments (NUTS 3): Dordogne, Gironde, Landes, Lot-et-Garonne and Pyrénées-Atlantiques.

Since the 1st January 2016,  the recast of the regional map merged Aquitaine with the region Limousin and Poitou-Charentes to form the new Aquitaine -Limousin -Poitou-Charentes (ALPC) region. 

Vertical Tabs