Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

Copernicus - The European Earth Observation Programme

Copernicus - The European Earth Observation Programme

Copernicus is the European system for monitoring the Earth and is coordinated and managed by the European Commission.

The development of the observation infrastructure is performed under the aegis of the European Space Agency for the space component and by the European Environment Agency and EU countries for the in situ component.

It consists of a complex set of systems which collect data from multiple sources: earth observation satellites and in situ sensors such as ground stations, airborne sensors, and sea-borne sensors. It processes this data and provides users with reliable and up-to-date information through a set of services related to environmental and security issues.

The services address six thematic areas: land, marine, atmosphere, climate change, emergency management, and security. They support a wide range of applications, including environment protection, management of urban areas, regional and local planning, agriculture, forestry, fisheries, health, transport, climate change, sustainable development, civil protection, and tourism.

For more information, please see the Copernicus Brochure.

20 years of the Copernicus programme

The foundations of the Copernicus programme were laid with the signing of the Baveno Manifesto in 1998. This document proposed the creation of a European environment monitoring programme. 20 years on, Copernicus has seven satellites in orbit, provides access to tens of terabytes of free data every day, and gives users reliable and up-to-date information through a set of services focused on six thematic areas. The high resolution data produced by Copernicus is also used by innovative businesses to develop satellite-enabled products and services, which creates highly skilled jobs in Europe. And now, it's time for another milestone in the history of the Copernicus programme - the launch of new Data and Information Access Services (DIAS).

More information on Copernicus