Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

Cultural Tourism: Winners of the EDEN 2017 Destinations of Excellence Awards

Cultural Tourism: Winners of the EDEN 2017 Destinations of Excellence Awards
Published on: 23/03/2018
18 destinations across Europe win awards for Cultural Tourism.

18 European countries participated in the competition. Each country has selected one winner and up to 4 runners-up. The winners of the 2017 edition were chosen for their excellence in tourism offers based on cultural heritage assets (e.g. traditional historical or archaeological monuments, industrial sites, museums, theatres, galleries, contemporary architectural sites, modern urban districts, etc.).

The winners were announced at the EDEN Awards ceremony on 22 March 2018 in Brussels, organised in line with the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018. The EDEN Awards help raise awareness for sustainable cultural tourism and draws attention to exciting, little-known European destinations that are off the beaten track.

Presented every 2 years, each time under a different theme, the EDEN Awards promote sustainable tourism.

And the EDEN 2017 winners on cultural tourism are:

  • Belgium: La Louvière
  • Bulgaria: Yambol municipality
  • Croatia: Vukovar-Vučedol-Ilok
  • Cyprus: Orini Larnakas
  • Czech Republic: Eagle mountains and foothills - Chateaux on Orlice river
  • Finland: Fiskars Village
  • France: The Mining History Centre, Lewarde
  • Greece: Patra
  • Hungary: The Route of Medieval Churches in the Upper-Tisza Region
  • Ireland: Scattery Island/Kilrush, Clare
  • Latvia: Cēsis Municipality
  • Lithuania: Pakruojis Manor
  • Malta: Qrendi
  • Poland: Multicultural current of the Bug River
  • Romania: Suceava City
  • Serbia: Novi Pazar
  • Slovenia: Koper
  • Spain: Land of Saint Ignatius

More information