European transparency initiative

European transparency initiative

European transparency initiative

European transparency initiative

Recipients of EU funding

European citizens are entitled to know how their money is used. Making public the information on who receives EU funding is one of the key objectives of the European transparency initiative.

The European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF) and its predecessors the Financial Instrument for Fisheries Guidance (FIFG) and the European Fisheries Fund (EFF) are managed by national authorities under a system known as 'shared management'. Each year, countries that receive such funding were required to publish relevant information on their websites, including information on natural persons who are beneficiaries of the funds.

However, in its judgement of 9 November 2010 in cases concerning the obligation to publish information on beneficiaries of the European Agricultural funds the Court of Justice of the European Union concluded that the publication of certain information relating to natural persons was not proportionate. Consequently the Court declared that the relevant provisions were invalid.

For reasons of transparency and in order to take into  account  the objections expressed by the Court, Regulation EMFF (EU) No 508/2014  establishes the obligation for managing authorities to publish information only on those beneficiaries of EMFF payments who are legal entities, and, in accordance with national law, on those who are natural persons.  

The European Commission maintains this webpage to facilitate public access to information on beneficiaries of EMFF payments (shared management) which are published on Member State websites.

To access this information, please see the websites of the respective countries. Please note that the information below is "work in progress" and subject to ongoing updates based on information that the Commission receives from the Member States.


Important notice

The European Commission maintains this webpage to facilitate public access to information. Please note that the web pages linked to are under the control of Member states and Managing Authorities of the European Union and are not under the control of the Commission services. The content of these sites is the sole responsibility of the Member states and Managing Authorities concerned. The list of links on this webpage is based on information provided by Member states. The list is not necessarily exhaustive. The degree of coverage and detail as well as the way of presenting the information on the web sites linked to can vary widely according to the Member state. The European Commission therefore cannot guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the data or information provided, nor does it accept responsibility or liability for any use made thereof.


Flag of Belgium Belgique/België

Flag of Bulgaria Bulgaria

Flag of Czech Republic Česko

Flag of Denmark Danmark

Flag of Germany Deutschland

Flag of Estonia Eesti

Flag of Greece Ellada

Flag of Spain España

Flag of France France

Flag of Croatia Hrvatska

Flag of Ireland Ireland

Flag of Italy Italia

Flag of Cyprus Kypros

Flag of Latvia Latvija

Flag of Lithuania Lietuva

Flag of Hungary Magyarország


Flag of Malta Malta

Flag of The Netherlands Nederland

Flag of Austria Österreich

Flag of Poland Polska

Flag of Portugal Portugal

Flag of Romania România

Flag of Slovenia Slovenija

Flag of Slovakia Slovensko

Flag of Finland Suomi/Finland

Flag of Sweden Sverige