Fisheries Partnership Agreement

The current Fisheries Partnership Agreement between the EU and Morocco entered into force on 28 February 2007 for a period of four years. It has been tacitly renewed twice. The current Protocol to this Agreement was signed on 18 November 2013 and endorsed by the Council and the European Parliament. It entered into force on 15 July 2014 following the completion of the internal ratification procedures by Morocco.

Main features of the FPA

Duration of the Agreement: 4 years renewable, starting on 28.2.2007
Duration of the previous Protocols: 4 years (28.2.2007-27.2.2011) + 1 year (28.2.2011-27.2.2012), provisionally applied until 14.12.11.
Duration of the new Protocol: 4 years (15.7.2014 – 14.7.2018)
Nature of the FPA: Mixed agreement
Financial contribution: 30 million €/year: 16 million € as access payment to the resource and 14 million € earmarked for the support of Moroccan sectoral fisheries policy in order to promote sustainability in its waters. In addition, the fleet is expected to contribute for 10 million €.
Fee for ship owners:

Tuna: 35 € per tonne caught
Small scale fishing/north, pelagic species: 75 €/GT/quarter
Small scale fishing/north, long-liners: 67 €/GT/quarter
Industrial fishing for pelagic species: 100 €/tn (freezer trawlers), 35 €/tn (RSW vessels)
Demersal fishing: 60 €/GT/quarter
Small scale fishing/south: 67 €/GT/quarter

Advances: Tuna fishing: 7000 € per year
Industrial pelagic fishing: 1 month expected catch fee


The first fisheries agreement concluded between the EU and Morocco dates back to 1995. At that time, it was by far the most important fisheries agreement between the EU and a third country. However, the parties did not reach an agreement to renew the protocol in 1999 and there was no agreement until the current Fisheries Partnership Agreement came into force in February 2007.

The first Protocol to current Fisheries Partnership Agreement ran until 27 February 2011 and provided for a financial contribution of 36.1 million € out of which 13.5 million € was dedicated to the support of the fisheries policy of Morocco. Vessels from 11 EU Member States could obtain fishing authorisations from Morocco under the Agreement and this Protocol.

A second Protocol, extending its predecessor by one year under essentially the same terms, was negotiated in February 2011 and provisionally applied until December 2011, when the European Parliament decided not to consent to its conclusion.

Legal framework