Background - European Neighbourhood Policy countries (ENP)


Who are the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) countries?

Sixteen countries are covered by the ENP, falling into two regional groups:

ENP-East countries:

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

ENP-South countries:

Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia.

What is the European Neighbourhood Policy?

The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) was developed in 2004, with the objective of avoiding the emergence of new dividing lines between the enlarged EU and its neighbours to the South and East, and of strengthening the prosperity, stability and security of all concerned.

Through the ENP, the EU offers its neighbours a privileged relationship, building upon a mutual commitment to common values (democracy and human rights, rule of law, good governance, market economy principles and sustainable development). The ENP goes beyond existing relationships to offer a deeper political relationship and economic integration.

Are better statistics part of the ENP? And why?

In short, yes. The availability of reliable, comparable and comprehensive statistics is an essential component of evidence-based decision making and good governance.

This information is also needed to inform and support the dialogue and exchanges between the EU and its ENP country partners. Improved statistics are one part of a wider range of actions, both of a bilateral and multilateral nature, agreed with the ENP countries.