EU Presidency websites

Every six months a member state of the European Union (EU) holds the Presidency and presides over the work of the Council of the EU. During this time the state holding the Presidency plays host to the majority of the Union's events and plays a key role in the activities of the EU. It is responsible for organising EU meetings, setting the Union's political agenda and ensuring its development, integration and security.


The Trio Presidency
The national rotating presidencies of the EU are divided into groups of three - Trios. Trios ensure consistency in the work of the Council over an 18-month period.


The Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta constitute the Presidency Trio for the 18-month period from 1st January 2016 to 30 June 2017. The programme and priorities for the 18 months build on the work successfully brought forward by the coountries in the preceding trio - Italy, Latvia and Luxembourg.





1st semester - Netherlands







2nd semester - Luxembourg




1st semester - Latvia





2nd semester - Italy



1st semester - Greece





2nd semester - Lithuania



1st semester - Ireland





2nd semester - Cyprus



1st semester - Denmark





2nd semester - Poland



1st semester - Hungary





2nd semester - Belgium



1st semester - Spain