Statistics Explained

Glossary:Euro area enlargements

(Redirected from Glossary:EA-19)

The euro area, comprising the European Union (EU) Member States which adopted the euro as their common currency, started in January 1999 with 11 countries and has expanded through a series of enlargements to 19 countries, so far.

Eurostat euro area data may either refer to a fixed country composition (EA-15, EA-16, EA-17 …) or to a floating country composition (EA). In the floating country composition (EA), the data of a specific year always refer to the euro area country composition of that year. In the fixed country composition, the values of all years refer to the same list of countries.

Below is the evolution of the euro area since 1999:

  • EA-11 (1 January 1999 - 31 December 2000):
Austria (AT), Belgium (BE), Finland (FI), France (FR), Germany (DE), Ireland (IE), Italy (IT), Luxembourg (LU), Netherlands (NL), Portugal (PT), Spain (ES)
  • EA-12 (1 January 2001 - 31 December 2006):
EA-11 + Greece (EL)
  • EA-13 (1 January 2007 - 31 December 2007):
EA-12 + Slovenia (SI)
  • EA-15 (1 January 2008 - 31 December 2008):
EA-13 + Cyprus (CY) and Malta (MT)
  • EA-16 (1 January 2009 - 31 December 2010):
EA-15 + Slovakia (SK)
  • EA-17 (1 January 2011 - 31 December 2013):
EA-16 + Estonia (EE)
  • EA-18 (from 1 January 2014):
EA-17 + Latvia (LV)
  • EA-19 (from 1 January 2015):
EA-18 + Lithuania (LT)

The current EA-19, as a result, consists of:

Belgium (BE) Germany (DE) Estonia (EE)
Ireland (IE) Greece (EL) Spain (ES)
France (FR) Italy (IT) Cyprus (CY)
Latvia (LV) Lithuania (LT) Luxembourg (LU)
Malta (MT) Netherlands (NL) Austria (AT)
Portugal (PT) Slovenia (SI) Slovakia (SK)
Finland (FI)

Related concepts