Glossary:African Union (AU)

Statistics Explained

The African Union , abbreviated as \mathbf{AU} , is a union consisting of 53 African Member States (all African countries except for Morocco), established on 9 July 2002 by the Durban Summit as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

The most important organs of the AU are the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its Member States, and the AU Commission, based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, responsible for the day-to-day management of the AU and consisting of a Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson and 8 Commissioners, each responsible for a portfolio.

Further information

- African Union (also in Arabic and French)
- African Union in a nutshell

Statistical data

• Africa-EU - key statistical indicators