## Glossary:Coastal Member States

Statistics Explained

The Coastal Member States of the European Union (EU) consist of the 22 Member States with a sea border:

(BE) Belgium, (BG) Bulgaria, (DK) Denmark, (DE) Germany, (EE) Estonia, (IE) Ireland, (EL) Greece, (ES) Spain, (FR) France, (HR) Croatia, (IT) Italy, (CY) Cyprus, (LV) Latvia, (LT) Lithuania, (MT) Malta, (NL) Netherlands, (PL) Poland, (PT) Portugal, (RO) Romania, (SI) Slovenia, (FI) Finland and (SE) Sweden.

For completeness' sake, these are the 5 EU Member States which do **not** have a sea border: (CZ) Czechia, (LU) Luxembourg , (HU) Hungary, (AT) Austria and (SK) Slovakia.

## **Related concepts**

• Coastal region

## Statistical data

• Tourism statistics - annual results for the accommodation sector