Glossary:Oceania

Statistics Explained

The term **Oceania** was coined in 1831 by French explorer Jules Dumont d'Durville. Today, it is used in several languages to denote a constitute comprising Australia and several islands in the Pacific Ocean. It is also one of eight terrestrial ecozones.

The continent of **Oceania** consists of:

- AU: Australia;
- FJ: Fiji;
- FM: Federated States of Micronesia;
- KI: Kiribati;
- MH: Marshall Islands;
- NC: New Caledonia;
- NR: Nauru;
- NZ: New Zealand;
- PF: French Polynesia;
- PG: Papua New Guinea;
- PN: Pitcairn;
- PW: Palau;
- SB: Solomon Islands;
- TO: Tonga;
- TV: Tuvalu;
- VU: Vanuatu;
- WS: Samoa;
- XF: Wallis and Futuna;
- Southern polar regions.