Glossary:East African Community (EAC)

Statistics Explained

The East African Community, abbreviated as EAC, is a regional intergovernmental organisation with its headquarters in Arusha (Tanzania), consisting of the following member countries:

The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30 November 1999 and en-

Burundi	BI	Rwanda	RW	Uganda	UG
Kenya	KE	Tanzania	TZ		

tered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States – Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. Rwanda and Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007.

EAC envisages at a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa by widening and deepening economic, political, social and culture integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value added production, trade and investments.

EAC has already established a customs union and an internal market, and is now preparing up a protocol to pave the way to monetary union.

Further information

• East African Community website

Statistical data

• Africa-EU - key statistical indicators