Eurostat

Eurostat

database online help

How to manage cookies?

What are cookies? How to manage them?

Cookies are small files linked to the user’s web browser. These files will save, for example, the language selected by the user in the Data Browser interface. They are therefore an interesting way to spare time for a frequent usage of this application.

Most browsers support cookies, but users can set their browsers to decline them and can delete them whenever they like.

The Data Protection european rules (see this page) and the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) rules require prior informed consent for storage or for access to information stored on a user’s terminal equipment.

The first time the user gets access to the Data Browser, this warning appears on top of the page:

image40 en
Note

This warning message mentions the following page: https://ec.europa.eu/info/cookies_en This page provides additional information about cookies management on the EUROPA domain.

What happens if the user accepts the cookies?

If the user accepts the cookies, all the features of the Data Browser are available.

What happens if the user refuses the cookies?

If the user refuses the cookies, the following features of the Data Browser will be unavailable:

Note

Even if the user refuses the cookies, some "technical" cookies remain, such as:

  • The Session ID of the user (if the user is authenticated)

  • Piwik identifier used for anonymous tracking (storing IP’s and page requests)

How can the user make a different choice after having accepted/refused the cookies?

In the menu, click on Accept/decline cookies. This message appears again and allows to pick another choice:

image41 en

User can then refuse or accept cookies on clicking the appropriate button: I accept cookies or I refuse cookies.

Note
If the user refuses cookies, the data which are present on his computer (My data and Custom views) remain present, but this data cannot be accessed anymore by the Data Browser. Consequently, if the user refuses cookies by mistake, no data is lost.