NL presidency

The Netherlands Presidency of the Council of the European Union

             The presidency of the Council of the EU     


On the 1 January 2016, the Netherlands took over the presidency of the
Council of the EU.

The presidency of the Council rotates among the EU Member States every 6 months.
During this 6-month period, the presidency chairs meetings at every level in the Council, helping to ensure the continuity of the EU's work in the Council.

On this occasion, Eurostat publishes some information & statistics about the Netherlands.


Infographic: The Netherlands in the EU

Infogragraphic: The Netherlands in the EU

Download this infographic in English or in Dutch

Contact & feedback

If you have any comments or would like to give us your feedback on this infographic, please contact us via

If you have questions on Eurostat statistics, please contact our support team. Contact details can be found here.