

64th ESGAB meeting

Thursday, 7 November 2019

Minutes

Doc ESGAB 2019/67

The Secretariat

Doc. ESGAB/2019/67 Status: Final



Brussels, 7 November 2019

Minutes

64th Meeting of the European Statistical Governance Advisory Board (ESGAB)

Expert Group X02147

7 November 2019

1 Place Madou, Brussels

1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda

The draft agenda (Doc. 2019/55) was presented and agreed. One ESGAB member informed the Board that she will attend the 10-year celebration of the French ESGAB-like body, where she will present ESGAB and its work, in particular on governance issues.

2. Annual Report 2019

ESGAB members discussed the current draft of the Annual Report 2019 and decided on the following timeline for the next actions:

- A revised draft of the 2019 Annual Report will be sent to members, by 22 November.
- Members will send written comments, by 29 November.
- A new version, incorporating those comments, will be sent to members, by 6 December.

The final draft of the report will be finalised in the ESGAB meeting to take place on 11 December.

3. Information from Eurostat on recent and future developments in the ESS

Eurostat presented the overall methodology for the next round of peer reviews, a document that was discussed and adopted in the October meeting of the European Statistical System Committee (ESSC). This document describes the objectives of the third round of peer reviews and its scope, including the involvement of ONAs, as well as details on the self-assessment questionnaires, the composition of the peer-review expert teams, the peer-review visits, and the peer-review reports and improvement actions. The peer-review exercise is scheduled to start in 2021-2022 and will end in 2023.



The first stage of the process involved agreeing on basic parameters of the methodology, while the second stage will tackle the implementation arrangements. The whole package will then be discussed in the May 2020 meeting of the ESSC.

One important new element compared to previous years is the communication strategy, as continuous and targeted internal and external communication about the objectives of the peer reviews, the process and its results is of utmost importance to ensure acceptance of the results by everyone. Eurostat will hire a company to design a communication strategy and communication material which can be used by all ESS members.

4. Appointment of ESGAB's representatives to GPAC and the ESS Task Force on Peer Reviews

ESGAB decided to invite Ms Genovefa Ružić, former Director General of the Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia, to be ESGAB's representative to GPAC.

ESGAB agreed to nominate Mr Priit Potisepp as ESGAB's representative to the ESS Task Force on Peer Reviews.

5. Collaboration with the European Statistical Advisory Committee (ESAC)

ESGAB members agreed to write together with ESAC a joint paper outlining principles and guidelines that could lead to future legislation on 'Smart statistics and big data'. ESAC will propose the first draft.

Moreover, one member of each body will participate in a meeting of the other one in 2020. Mr Maurizio Vichi, acting Chair of ESAC, will be invited to the ESGAB meeting of 26 February 2020.

ESGAB members suggested several other ways to strengthen the collaboration with ESAC, for example by organising a joint seminar to discuss ESGAB- and ESAC-like functions. As there is a considerable heterogeneity of national user councils, also highlighted by the ESGAB report, it would be useful to understand how they participate in the respective national system governance. This idea will be discussed also with Mr Vichi in the February meeting. In preparation of the February meeting, one member of ESGAB will draft a short document on open issues in the relation between national user councils and NSIs.

6. Next meetings

ESGAB decided on the following schedule for the meetings of next year:

- 26 February
- 6 May



- 24 June virtual meeting
- 14 October
- 12 November
- 17 December

All physical meetings will take place in Brussels.

§

List of participants

Members

Mr Enrico Giovannini (Chair) Ms Mireille Elbaum Mr Algirdas Šemeta Mr Kai Carstensen Mr Bart de Moor

Excused: Ms Frances Ruane

<u>Observer</u>

Ms Mariana Kotzeva, (Eurostat)

Secretariat

Ms Cristina Pereira de Sá

Ms Delia Bistreanu