

70th ESGAB meeting

Thursday, 12 November 2020

Minutes

Virtual meeting

Doc ESGAB 2020/59

The Secretariat

Doc. ESGAB/2020/59 Status: Final



12 November 2020

Minutes

70th Meeting of the European Statistical Governance Advisory Board (ESGAB)

Expert Group X02147

12 November 2020

Virtual meeting

1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda

The draft agenda (Doc. 2020/45) was adopted without amendments.

2. Information from Eurostat on recent and future developments in the ESS

Ms Kotzeva informed the ESGAB members that, at the beginning of November, Commissioner Paolo Gentiloni presented the statistical package to ECOFIN. The Package consists of the following documents: a cover note by the Director-General of Eurostat, the EFC Status Report on Information Requirements in the EMU, the EPC Report (which summarises developments and progress made in structural statistics) and the ESS-ESCB quality assessment report on statistics underlying the Macroeconomic Imbalance Procedure.

Ms Kotzeva said that Eurostat continues its efforts to produce experimental statistics at European level, of which a good example is the recent publication of an article on quarterly bankruptcies. She added that an indicator on monthly excess mortality, comparable across Member States, should also be published soon.

Ms Kotzeva also informed ESGAB members that Eurostat has a new approach in the dissemination of European statistics. Starting with January 2021, Eurostat will publish new data as a package, composed of a news release highlighting the key indicators, Statistics Explained articles containing more details on the data, as well as infographics showing the main trends of the data. The package will be accompanied by tweets and Facebook posts.

3. 2020 ESGAB Annual Report

ESGAB members discussed the different chapters of the report and agreed to implement several revisions.



ESGAB members will send their contributions and comments on the current draft of the report to the Secretariat.

4. Next meeting

The next ESGAB meeting will take place on 17 December.

§

List of participants

Members

Mr Enrico Giovannini (Chair)

Mr Algirdas Šemeta

Mr Kai Carstensen

Mr Priit Potisepp

Ms Mireille Elbaum

Ms Frances Ruane

Mr Bart de Moor

Observers

Ms Mariana Kotzeva, (Eurostat)

Mr Eduardo Barredo Capelot (Eurostat)

Secretariat

Ms Delia Bistreanu