Organisational structure of DG DEVCO

Organisational structure of DG DEVCO

The European Commission's Directorate-General for International cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO) consists of eight Directorates. Its Director General, Stefano Manservisi, is responsible for the overall success of DG DEVCO’s mission. He is assisted by two Deputy Directors General.
DG DEVCO operates under the guidance of the Commissioner responsible for International cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica.
DG DEVCO's organisation chart and mission statement show the structure and purpose of the organisation.
The first three Directorates, Directorates A–C, cover general policy, and sectoral policies linked to sustainable growth and human and social and environmental development. These are followed by four geographical Directorates, D–G. The eigth Directorate, Directorate R, covers the organisation of resources both in Brussels and in the EU Delegations.

Policy and TEHMATIC directorates

Directorate A – International Cooperation and Development Policy

Provides analysis and policy formulation within EuropeAid on development issues, including:
  • policy coherence for development;
  • aid effectiveness;
  • financing for development;
  • international dialogue.
The Directorate seeks to engage with think tanks and researchers to inform its policy proposals. Moreover, it ensures representation in international fora on development issues, coordinates relations with Member States and non EU States and is the interface with the EEAS on crisis management issues.
Thematic directorates

Directorate B – People and Peace

Includes more traditional development aspects such as gender equality, human rights and democratic governance, resilience, fragility, migration, employment, culture, education, health, security and nuclear safety. In all these sectors, it develops policies, provides guidance on quality, and implements thematic budget lines in greater detail.

Directorate C – Planet and Prosperity

It covers all policies related to sustainable growth and development. It also develops policies, provides guidance on quality, and implements thematic budget lines in greater detail, for the following sectors: rural development, food security, nutrition, climate change, environment, private sector, trade, energy, cities, digitalisation and infrastructure.

Geographical directorates

The four geographical Directorates are in charge of overseeing the implementation of assistance by EU Delegations. They also manage certain programmes directly.
The first two directorates cover Africa and the ACP (African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States).

Directorate D - EU-Africa Relations, East and Southern Africa

Directorate E - West and Central Africa

Directorate F - Asia, Central Asia, Middle East/Gulf and Pacific

Directorate G - Latin America and Caribbean


Organisation of resources

Directorate R – Resources
Directorate R manages DG DEVCO’s human, financial and technical resources – planning, budget, audit, legal affairs, and human resource management. It is also responsible for the human resource management of around 3 000 personnel in over 100 EU Delegations world-wide.

Coordination with other stakeholders
DG DEVCO's staff is specially trained to cope with rapidly changing circumstances and can act as a liaison with other bilateral and multilateral donors such as the United Nations. EuropeAid works in close partnership with development agencies in the Member States as well as with international financial institutions such as the World Bank. In addition, it is involved in ongoing dialogue with NGOs and other non-state actors both within the EU and the beneficiary countries.